Minutes of the La Porte City Fire Department

Merit Commission

January 3, 2024

The Merit Commission met in person at Fire Station 1. Present were commission members, Miles Fettinger, Alison Zoll, Ian Eldridge and Josh Huelat. Chief Andy Snyder and Assistant Chief Kelly Burke were also in attendance.

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 PM.

A motion to accept the minutes from December was made by Ian Eldridge and seconded by Alison Zoll.

Election of officers was held. Josh Huelat nominated Alison Zoll for President and was seconded by Ian Eldridge. Josh Huelat nominated himself for Vice President and Ian Eldridge seconded. Miles Fettinger nominated Ian Eldridge for Secretary and was seconded by Josh Huelat. All nominations passed unanimously.

Old Business - Annual performance ratings are complete including Chief Snyder and Assistant Chief Kelly Burke. Notifications went out with the standard 10 days to file an appeal. No appeals were filed.

Jason Heckathorn did not pass the Public Safety Medical Exam and has been notified. Miles was asked for the next name on the list, his background check came back good, but he has taken another job. The next name was requested, he passed the background check and will be meeting with Chief Snyder on Friday.

Dr. James Edwards was re-elected for another 4-year term by the Fire Department membership. Ian Eldrige was appointed by the Board of Public Works to a 4-year term.

New Business – Assistant Chief Kelly Burke suggested that Alison start working with the Human Resource department to ready the applications to go out in February.

Josh Huelat inquired about the Ambulance service at the Fire Department. Chief Snyder explained that due to being disqualified from the grant, it is on hold.

Josh Huelat made a motion to adjourn, Miles Fettinger seconded at 6:59 PM.

Recorded by Dawn Prater

Ian Eldridge Merit Commission Secretary